Trying my hand at some mixed media art

Mixed Media Angel Plaque

P1260148

Still ‘sorting and purging’ the craft supplies that I didn’t get rid of before I moved.

P1260144

Came across this ‘thrifted’ plaque (which originally had a simple abstract design) in a box of frames,  It was either ‘USE it or donate it’ time . . . . I decided to use it.

P1260147

I had NO IDEA what I was going to make of it when I first started.  I applied a page of sheet music; then layers of old clothing patterns, extending over the edges.

P1260142

I ‘tested’ some assorted papers and thought about making it a ‘vintage key collage’; but I’ve dome LOTS of those.  Forcing myself to do NEW things right now . . .  and I settled upon painting an angel.

P1260146

It took two coats of acrylic craft paint to cover the paper.  It’s been a while since I’ve painted eyes . . .and does it ever show!  sigh.  Then I outlined everything with a black Sharpie.

P1260137

I glued a piece of gold pipe cleaner for her halo; and some little gold metallic stars on her wings.  I thought about giving her a tiny ‘key charm’ necklace, but the chain didn’t look quite right; so I settled for painting a heart on her chest.

P1260139

Painting OVER the edges was new to me, so I only attempted it with the wings.

P1260136

Here you can better tell the size, fairly smallish at just 8″ x 8″; even though it’s not a very good ‘photo’.  The flash made a lot of glare and the lamp is reflecting in the glass in the lantern on the right, completely obstructing the ceramic bust.

SO, that was my new adventure for now.  I’m TYING to ‘ease my way’ into less ‘physical labor intensive’ projects.  I’m not getting in younger, after all!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2016/03/29/trying-my-hand-at-some-mixed-media-art/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. AJ I love the angel! I think it is quirky and well done and love the items and layering you used!!

  2. Love it, especially the use of the sheet music & old patterns! By the way AJ, I will be in Portland on Thursday but only for an hour then on to Bend. My sister moved there & I’m sad I won’t be able to visit your booth at Stars! Maybe another time. 😦


Leave a Reply

