Upcycled vintage candy box

Vintage wood candy box I found at an estate sale.

P1250997

The top was fairly beat up.

P1250998

Nice clean ‘innards’ though!

P1250999

I would have guessed that it was maybe a cigar box; but the label on the bottom tells otherwise.

P1260002

I sanded off the picture on the top with my orbital sander; then hand sanded the rest of the outside.  (it had a glossy varnish, so it HAD to be sanded before painting.)

Painted the whole thing aqua; then sanded.

P1260060

BEFORE I had decided how to decorate the top of the box, I decided to use this pretty turquoise glitter paper on the inside because . . . well because I just got it and was itchin’ to use it!  (probably should have waited until I finished the outside first though!)

P1260061

I selected this paper napkin for the top of the box.

P1260062

This particular design ‘opens out’ to cover the whole napkin.  (not ALL decorative napkins do though!)

P1260067

This was the napkin I wanted to use at first.

P1260068

Alas, this design just repeats, limiting how it can be used.

P1260059

The sheerness of the napkin allows the distressed wood to show though.  I used Mod Podge to apply the napkin to the box.

P1260058

Then I glued a reproduction skeleton key to the front.

P1260358

It’s available in my booth at Stars; along with several other upcycled little boxes!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2016/04/04/upcycled-vintage-candy-box/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I love those napkins! You’ve used them for all sorts of items! Very creative! 🙂


Leave a Reply

