Garden progress report

WHEW!!  It has been TOO hot here in Oregon. They were predicting temps to hit 100 over the weekend.  Fortunately it didn’t get quite that high.  I just canNOT handle heat like that like I could when I was younger.  The plus side is that my garden LOVES all that sunshine.  (as long as I give it plenty of water too!)

P1270551

My garden ladder is filling out nicely.

Not as overflowing with flowers as I WANT it to be; but much better than what I started with!

And it SMELLS amazing!!

P1270552

I finally got the picket border in along the backside.  Only the left side is actually ‘mine'(it’s a duplex); but the neighbor was happy to let me plant the entire space.   There are two rows of ever bearing strawberries in the front; then ten rose bushes at the back, and peonies between the roses in about the middle.

 

The roses are really starting to fill out with lots of leaves.  I probably won’t get many, if any roses this year; and the peonies haven’t even broken ground yet.  The roses started off terribly slooooooow.  ONE of them burst with growth right away, but the rest just sat there looking like the day I planted them.  Even though the planting directions had not said to do so, I pruned back all the tips just an inch or so and they started sprouting new growth almost immediately.  I had to go back and prune off a couple of dead limbs yesterday.

In my front yard garden area, my Lupine has bloomed and gone to rest already.I saved a few seed pods to try planting next year.   Flowers are starting to bloom on all the other plants now, and the plants I started from seed are popping up all over the place.  I’ve added spearmint plants ‘everywhere’, in both the front and back garden areas.

P1270545

The ‘side garden’ is still looking pretty pathetic!  sigh.  I’ve put mostly annuals started from seed in this section because I have several underground cables and roots from a tree to contend with for root space.  I really wanted to do Hydrangea down that entire side.  Alas, with minimal ‘root space’ I couldn’t do that and I really don’t know WHAT I should be planting there.  So for now I’m just doing what is easiest and not too costly.  (But I did get three Hydrangea planted at the BACK of the front garden, under the window.)

So there are Gladioli along he back; which I THOUGHT were perennials; but have since learned that they really need to be dug up every year . . . which is something that I was specifically trying to AVOID in my plant selections.  SO, we’ll see how they fare being left in the ground this winter!

There are mums planted between the gladioli.  I actually bought already blooming mums and planted them last fall.  Most of them are coming back.  Same with he winter pansies planted there.  Lots of assorted annuals started from seed too; but I’ll be darned if I can remember what I planted where at this point.  It’ll be a fun surprise when they finally bloom!

After this crazy hot week and having to water twice a day; I’m really looking forward to the predicted week of cooler, cloudy and rainy weather!

Published in: on June 8, 2016 at 10:01 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2016/06/08/garden-progress-report/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love your garden ! You certainly have a ” green thumb”. Please keep bringing your creative ideas to us. 🌸🌺🌻 non

  2. Great vision for your new garden areas! How is the battle with the squirrels faring? I’m in a new house this summer and planting and a few deer have visited and sampled the raised veggie bed but just nibbles and nothing destroyed. Yes, this hot weather has been a challenge trying to keep new plants watered. You have done a fabulous job in your new house. Congrats!

  3. Everything is coming along nicely….I bet it will double in size by July 4th. 🙂 Lori

  4. You’ve done a wonderful job with your garden. It will really fill in now. Be sure to show us photos as the summer goes on.


Leave a Reply

