Little wood box

I seem to be finding a lot of little boxes lately.  This is the latest.

DRAT!  The insides are painted!  It’s less work to male-over if I don’t have to do the inside; but the price was right so I bought it.

I sanded some of the original paint off the lid, just enough to distress the edges a bit and hot have dark red or blue show through.  Drilled a hole and added a vintage copper knob.

P1280053

Added some vintage dictionary pages to the bottom and back side of the lid.

P1280052

Is it DONE now???  Feels like it needs something more, but not sure just what??  Sorted through box after box of assorted supplies and embellishments  and STILL not sure ‘else’ it needed.  When I am feeling ‘stumped’ like this over the finishing touches on a project, I usually just stash it away and don’t think about it for a while.

P1280059

And sure enough, a few weeks later I was rummaging through my box of old keys for a different project and came across this key* with ‘secret’ stamped onto it.  PERFECT!!

*I think the key is from a set of Tim Holtz supplies.  I have several of them, all with different words on them.

I was in a similar dilemma with this little four drawer chest.  Found a tiny skeleton key and padlock charm to tie onto a knob.  Added some vintage dictionary paper to the backing (which is ‘oddly’ inset?!?) and to bottoms of the drawers.

They are both available in my booth at Stars.

P1280144

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2016/07/06/little-wood-box/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

