ReVamped Vintage Breadbox

P1270815Boring old bread box.

P1270817

Clean innards.

P1270816Removable knob for easier painting . .  and probably replacing!

I’m really not certain which ‘orientation’ is correct for usage?!?!?  Does the door open at the TOP or ant the FRONT?    You could probably fit more in it with the opening at the top.  But you have room to put stuff on the top of it if you open the door at the front?  Which way do you use your breadbox? (if you have one!)

Because of how the sides are, I ended up having to paint the inside too.  Distressed the outside and added a pretty new ceramic rose knob*.

 (*That knob is actually a decorative thumb tack!!  I glued it on with e6000)

I ended up placing so that the door opens down on the front . . .  mostly because the price tag shows better hanging that way!  But of course it can be USED either way.

I used one of the ceramic roses for the knob on this tiny drawer on his night stand too!

And on this mini cupboard!

HERE’S A PEEK BACK AT THE OTHER BREAD BOXES I HAVE DONE:

Basic roll top bread box.

I’m not positive that this was ‘supposed’ to be a bread box; but close enough!

Beach themed bread box and wood canister set.

This was the very FIRST breadbox that I made over and it’s still my favorite!.  It originally had handles on the sides; which I removed.  I gave it some little bun feet and reused the original pull.  (this was waaaaaaaaaaaay back, before I had a ‘stash’ of other knobs to change it to!)

Bread boxes are pretty easy to make over and typically very easy to find in thrift stores and estate and garage sales.  I can’t necessarily say that they are really GREAT sellers, because I’ve only done these few . . . but they do always sell pretty quickly!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2016/07/08/revamped-vintage-breadbox/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I really enjoy seeing your before and after projects and love the beachy canisters you made. What a great idea to use that rose thumbtack!!

  2. Here’s an idea that was a huge seller in my booth in Missouri. I bought table top lecturns for anywhere from 2 to 10 dollars each. I scanned vintage recipes that were on labels, such as Crisco, Cool Whip, etc. I would sand, paint, and distress the lecturns, then print the scanned labels, and/or old hand written recipes. Then I decoupaged them into the stand. I never bothered to paint the insides of the shelves. In my booth, I would display a vintage cookbook opened on top, and other cookbooks stacked inside the shelves, spines facing out. They never lasted long in my booth. I’ll see if I can find an old pic of one.


Leave a Reply

