The right place at the right time

For all those times you are disappointed because ‘just missed’ that perfect piece or missed out on a great deal . . . .

P1280041

 . . . . something like THIS happens and you do your happy dance!

P1280040

I don’t usually buy chairs with upholstered parts due to the high cost of new padding and fabric.  But at that great price, I could afford to make over this vintage chair.

This is pretty typical of what I’ve found on covered seats; someone has just re-covered the original tattered ugly fabric and and the worn out foam with new fabric and called it good.  ICK!!  The wood is usually fine to re-use; but if it’s in bad shape, it’s easy to use the old one as a template to cut a new one.  The hardest part of making over a padded seat is removing all the staples that are holding on the old fabric!

I had this pretty brown and blue fabric in my stash and decided to use it so I could leave the chair brown, as found.  I just gave the chair frame a good sanding to distress it though.

The new foam seat cushions usually run around $20.00; and I like to add a couple of layers of batting over the foam to protect the fabric and to add some extra ‘cush’.  I wrap the fabric over the batting and foam cushion, use a staple gun to attach the new fabric to the wood base.

By the time I’ve added up the cost of the foam cushion, batting and fabric; I’ve got about $30.00 just in materials invested in the chair.  Which is difficult to factor into the selling price if you’ve paid a lot for the chair.

P1280045

I also had this little foot stool and decided to paint and cover it to match the chair.

I did NOT distress the wood base on the footstool though; because the undercoat was too dark to really show.  I used a small pillow instead of a foam pad on the footstool for a really ‘OVER-stuffed’ look.  I love over stuffed stools and chairs!

Both have gone to my booth at Stars.

BIG SALE AT ALL THREE STARS MALLS THIS THURSDAY – MONDAY, July 14 – 18.

As always during the sales, EVERYTHING in my booth is 50% off!!

P1280159

The big 8 drawer blue dresser has already sold.

But my booth is still jam-packed with goodies!!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2016/07/13/the-right-place-at-the-right-time/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Abso-tively love that footstool. And a chair for 99 cents!!! I wish I lived close enough to go to this sale. Your booth looks great!


Leave a Reply

