Ugliest Trunk EVER!

Honestly, I think this is the ugliest little trunk that I have EVER seen!!

P1280043

The latch is missing and I have NO IDEA what the ‘significance’ of the paint job is?!?!  Perhaps a Halloween decoration or party prop?  I really only looked at the price tag to see how much they were trying to get for it; and have a good laugh if it was more than a couple of dollars.

P1280044

It WAS just a couple of dollars and the ‘innards’ were decent; so I bought it.  It’s good to challenge myself every so often.

First off I filled the holes from the missing latch with wood filler, then sanded that spot smooth.  I painted it aqua, then distressed it a bit.

P1280217

It needs ‘something’ . . . . . but I wasn’t sure just what.  When that happens I just start digging through my boxes of supplies in search of inspiration.

P1280238

This bird themed paper napkin was perfect.  Since a few tiny spots of the original red paint showed through when I distressed it; the little bit of red in the napkin tied it in nicely.  I applied it using ModPodge.

I didn’t cover the back with the napkin because the hinges were in the way.  NOW, what to do to take the place of the missing latch at the front???  I have some cute little padlocks and keys, but they didn’t ‘feel right’ with the birds.

P1280242

Ah-HA!!!  Another perfect use for one of the aqua ceramic roses I have!  I drilled a little pilot hole (remember these are actually push pins so they have a tack on the back) and glued in on with some e6000.

P1280243

Not bad!  Not bad at all.

It sold within a DAY of when I took it to my booth at Stars!

I had restocked my booth last Tuesday, in preparation for the five-day sale, Thursday – Monday.  Had to go back in on both Friday and Saturday mornings because large items had sold and my booth was a MESS!

ALL of the above pieces sold last week, as of Saturday. (Lots of small stuff sold too, I just can’t show it all!)   I’m very curious to see what my booth looks like when I go in tomorrow, after 3 more days of the sale!

I took a few new pieces in with me on Saturday, just to fill the empty spots.  Some of it may be coming back home with me.

Like this chest of drawers.  It’s a REALLY nice piece; even the INSIDES of the drawers are painted!!  It doesn’t NEED a make-over . . .  but it really doesn’t ‘go with’ the color palette I have in my booth.  I really LIKE this color’s used on it too.  So, I figured I’d give it a chance to sell ‘as is’.  You never know!!

And this little metal folding shelf, which I was going to re-paint.  But it kind of ‘works’ with the colors of the chest, so I went ahead and brought it in ‘for now’.

I have a carload of furniture pieces to take in tomorrow.  I have a feeling I’m going to be spending quite a few hours working on rearranging my booth tomorrow.  I’ll wait to restock ‘smalls’ for when I have less big stuff to haul and move.

If you want to be sure you are notified of ALL Stars sales and special events; sign up for their email list via their website.  They do NOT share the email addresses with anyone!!  You can also follow Stars on Facebook  and Instagram.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2016/07/18/ugliest-trunk-ever/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. WOW! Terrific job! I can’t believe you bought it, me; I’d walk past it and go, “ooh, NASTY!” You did a great job in making it PRETTY! Well done!

  2. Your vision for projects is amazing! It could likely have been a prop or part of a display and now it has new life and a new home. Is there anything you can’t transform?

  3. Truly that ugly-duckling trunk is now a beautiful “swan.” It was just waiting for you. Congratulations on all your sales; you worked hard for them.


Leave a Reply

