My latest Re-purposing project . . .

My latest Re-purposing project is . . . . 

 . . . . is repurposing a portion of my LIFE.  It’s time to ‘let go’ of some of my old ways and invest my time and energy into something bigger . . . and more purposeful.  

The ‘letting go’ part of this upcoming repurposing project involves my blog.  Can you believe that I have been spending the time and effort to keep my blog going for almost TEN years now!?!

I remember ‘in the beginning days’ of my blog . . . .  constantly worrying about whether or not I could come up with enough content to keep it going for even a year!  And just like that, (or so it seems!) nearly a decade has gone by.  Wow.   A lot of pictures taken (and even more that I forgot to take!) A lot of paint and sand paper and sawdust and old things made new again.  THAT was the easy part.

 I will continue to do all that; maintain my booth at Stars and my etsy shop and  working on my home decorating projects.  I just won’t be sharing the step by step of it all in my blog anymore.  It takes a lot MORE time and effort to write about what you do, than to actually DO it.

The time that I will be saving by not blogging anymore will be invested in something MUCH more valuable and important.  Helping children.  More specifically, helping children who have been neglected or abused and removed from their homes, and ended up in foster care; by volunteering through the CASA program.  (Court Appointed Special Advocate)

 I’ve gone through the vetting process (informatin seminar, application, in person interview, TWO background checks) and will begin the training classes in a couple of weeks.

Sooooooo . . . .  “It’s the end of this blog as you know it . . . . ” 

I will leave the blog in place and hope that it will continue to instruct and inspire others to revamp their old items instead of throwing them away.  And I ‘might’ occasionally still post; for special events etc.

For the most part from now on, I’ll be using my Facebook page to ‘keep in touch’ with family and friends.  While my blog  posts automatically plug into my Facebook feed; my Facebook posts do NOT post on my blog.  So if you really want to keep in touch with what it going on in my life, you can follow my Facebook page  HERE.

EDITED TO ADD:  Sorry everyone!  I thought you could ‘follow me’ on Facebook, but NOPE.  Go ahead and send me a friend request, and I’ll set up a special group to put my blog readers in.  I WON’T get your Facebook posts, but you can get mine, and post on my page.  Sorry for the kerfuffle!!

 I ask your forgiveness in advance for my not ‘friending’ every one of you who might send me a Facebook friend request.  I just CANNOT keep up with that many people’s updates in my feed.   You can ‘follow me’ on Facebook without being ‘friended’ by me.

Lastly, I ask for your prayers and positive thoughts that I can do ‘good things’ for the children over whom I am given the responsibility of protecting, and guiding through the foster care system; and forward into a productive and happy life.

Thank you for friendship and support.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2016/08/30/my-latest-re-purposing-project/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have enjoyed your blog, your transformations and the candid way you have shared your life. God bless you as you become an advocate for those with no voice – it’s a calling few answer.

    Godspeed.

    Ann

  2. I applaud your new focus! May you be strengthened in your resolve to help those who need you. Your wonderful tutorials will be missed (like some of the before pics!), but they are not so important in the whole scheme of life. Prayers for you and the ones you will shepherd.

  3. I just found your blog and signed up! So while I am disappointed that you won’t be doing it any more, I have to say good for you for doing something so worthwhile. Kids always need a voice, and from what little I have seen and read on your site, you will be a great voice. Good luck going forward; I hope the rewards are many.

  4. AJ-

    You are truly an inspirational person. You will be GREATLY missed on these here interwebs. Your light and life have been such a blessing to me and my family.

    I have worked at a residential treatment facility for troubled youth in Muncie, Indiana (Youth Opportunity Center, Inc.) for over thirteen years, and I absoutely love it. We have approximately 150 kids from all over the state living on our campus with a wide array of needs. We work closely with our local CASA program (they have offices on our campus). I am so excited to hear that you will be moving into this field. You will do a wonderful job! I should know…after all, I’ve read about ten years of your life. 🙂

    You will be even more so in my family’s prayers. May the Lord richly bless you in all you do.

    Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it. -Proverbs 22:6

    “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.'” -Matthew 25:40

    -Just Justin

  5. Will miss your posts SO MUCH! But CASA is such a worthy use of your time … proud of you!

  6. You will be a great advocate for children in this new ‘season’ of your life. I have enjoyed immensely following your blog, visiting your space at Stars and watching the transformation of your yard. Best wishes for you.
    Dee

  7. I commend you on doing this important job. Best Wishes to you as you sign off.

  8. What a wonderful way to spend your time. I didn’t comment a lot on your blog, but enjoyed reading everything. Good Luck in your new endeavor.

    Your Sister
    Ramona

  9. I hope you enjoy your new journey. Wishing you much happiness.
    Judy

  10. Have enjoyed your blog. You rock! But, there is no tab to “follow” you on Facebook, only friend or message. Any suggestions? Best of luck in your new endeavors.

    Sue

  11. We will all miss you. The best of luck in your new endeavor. I have really enjoyed your blog.

  12. Wow! What a surprise and what a marvelous decision you have made, AJ. I have learned so much from all your wonderful posts. You have a lot to share and limited time to do so. You choosing kids first is incredible. I pray that you will have many successes to encourage you. You have so much to offer others. With kids, it is sometimes hard to know the positive impact you are making; sometimes you just have to continue on in faith.

    You are one of my all-time favorite people.

  13. I have followed many blogs over the years, gradually losing interest in most of them. I hemmed and hawed over starting one of my own for a while, but bit the biscuit and signed up on WordPress recently. You were my inspiration and I hope my blog becomes a reflection of yours. Best wishes in your new endeavours. *hugs*

  14. I have enjoyed your blog so much over the years…..I totally respect your decision…..it has been such a delight seeing how you tranform things !!! All the best for you !

  15. Oh, I just opened my laptop, I have just arrived in USA after a looooong two days getting here, sat down to enjoy catching up on two days worth of emails and blogs, and I see you are finalising your blog! I must admit I had tears in my eyes!

    I do wish you all the very best on your new journey and adventure. I am PLEASED it is not like others who take time off their blogs to roam around the world and take millions of selfies, or as I call them selfishies, but in fact, you are going to do something exceptionally worthwile. I was abused as a young child in the ’70’s and their was no help back then for kids like myself. We just bore what life had to throw at us and tried hard to be ‘normal’ I think your work will be very appreciated. I know that with your kind heart you will make a bigger difference to others than this blog. Children are so important. Their little feelings bruise easily and if they are with someone they feel safe with they learn to become happy adults.

    Farewell, and godspeed.
    Ria from Australia

  16. May God bless you on your new path.


Leave a Reply

