THIS is why I blog.

Received this email today.  I’m not including the writer’s name, since it was sent via email and not left as a comment on the blog; I don’t want to violate the writer’s privacy.  But it a definitive example of WHY I write this blog:

I stumbled across your site while trying to search ideas on “displays” and I have been meaning to email you.  am now one of your biggest fan.  You are first under my “favorites” list.
 
I am a newbie to the world of resale.  My unemployment ended back in February and that’s when I decided to take a leap of faith and set up shop in a consignment shop the following month in March of 2012.  Needless to say I have barely made rent of $250.00 each month thus far.  To date I have made $380.00 for this month and it’s all thanks to you.
 
I’m in the midst of slowly incorporating your type of style in my booth.   I happen to have left over “Gem Turquoise  paint from a year ago and decided to paint a couple of pieces which sold immediately  Happy, happy, happy.  Now my booth is “beach/cottage”.
 
I just wanted you to know that I check your site daily for inspiration.   I enjoyed reading “My Dirty Secret” I printed pics of your Pinterest and carry it with me in a folder for ideas when I am out shopping.
Thanks!  I needed that!
Published in: on October 30, 2012 at 12:51 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2012/10/30/this-is-why-i-blog/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It is absolutely awesome to see how much you can mean to someone just by blogging about yourself! These are the stories that makes you smile and that keeps you going. You are, as many other bloggers, an inspiration to many of us. Thank you for sharing a part of your life with us all.

  2. Ahh how sweet. I too come to your blog daily. Mainly just to see what you have been up to. I love what you do, I love what you say, I LOVE YOUR BLOG =)

  3. I find that email oh so inspiring. I am able to stay home now and pursue my art full time. I am a fine artist but I have always been interested in re-doing furnishings etc. Thank you for your blog to encourage me.

  4. I also read your blog daily. While I craft as a hobby mostly, I love to remake and reuse items and you are definitely an inspiration. I love your style and the fact that you freely share your ideas with others is greatly appreciated!

  5. I too love your blog and all of the pics of your great ideas and your booth at Stars. It upset me when you received the nasty comment a short time ago from a Debbie Downer. I am so glad that you received a well deserved praise from one of your followers. For that one Debbie Downer there are a lot of us that love your blog. You are a great inspiration to all of us fellow crafters. I have two blogs book marked on my iPhone and yours is one of them. I visit your blog daily because you always have new ideas and pictures of your work. I don’t know how you do it all but I really appreciate you sharing your gift of crafting.

  6. Well…I must also 2nd the emailer and I do share a very close story to hers. I lost my job in January when my boss was unable to come back to work from a cancer diagnosis. Found you in a search for booth ideas last month and faithfully have been reading your archives (currently back to June 2010) as my hubs is following the political scene each evening after he gets home from work and completes his outdoor tasks here.

    2 months ago my sweet hubs rented me a spot in a booth with 2 others who just recently backed out. I invited a good friend of mine who is a quilter/crafter to join me as of Nov 1st. We decided (hubs, friend & me) to give it a go until February to see how well we do before going farther. I’ve started out with natural/handmade soap that I decided to purchase from a family in loaves that I cut/package myself. In the past 2 months I’ve been successfully selling and now I’m expanding into the other things I enjoy doing which is pretty much what you do. I love painting furniture….’junking’ & thrifting. I think it’s like the ultimate treasure hunt!

    You help with tips, ideas, inspiration, boldness and sooo much more! I thank you from the bottom of my heart. As a creative, I believe it is a double-edge sword with the opposite being self criticism and doubt EVEN though everyone has always loved my work saying I should do something with that ability.

    I’m happy to agree with your other followers and realize everyone could use a compliment. You well deserve it!


Leave a Reply

