Perspective

Of course I do not expect everyone to agree with, like or even tolerate ‘my personal art aesthetic’.  But calling a simple craft project that reused an otherwise ‘intended for disposal’ item, and turning into a ‘marketable decorative item’ :

Horrendous; mutilated; Macabre craft project; Post apocalyptic mutilation  and destruction of literature; something that looks like a skinned dog or corpse; that has lessened their faith in humanity . . . .

Is a bit over dramatic, don’t you think?  And I’ll respond to that commenter by asking this: “What have YOU done to save such old books and get people to RE-BUY them??” 

P1110451

AND that being said, the books themselves (other than the ones that were cut down) are still entirely ‘readable’!   Not MY fault that no one wants to read outdated text books, card game instructional books and old romance novels anymore.  At least I have saved them from the landfill, and no criticism can demean my pride in that fact.

But I guess some people really DO still judge a book by it’s cover; or lack thereof!

Published in: on January 25, 2014 at 8:42 pm  Comments (14)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2014/01/25/perspective/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love your reaction to this.I like your reuse of the books.I have seen tons and tons of books that no one wants to read at garage sales.I never judge what others are doing.I’m going to look at books in a different way now as a new way to use them.I respect books to.But I also know how and when to reuse them for another purpose. There is way to much judging others these days.

  2. Keep doing what you do, I LOVE your talent!! You are so creative and inspirational. ox

  3. I want you to know that I LOVE your style. I love the look. Love that you share your how-tos. You are an incredibly creative and talented woman! I cannot fathom why an adult would take time to email insults about another persons craft.

    Bless you. May these ridiculous comments stop, may they not linger on your mind.

    You have a gift. You are bringing beauty into the world. You’re breathing life into “dead” objects. (Now I’m being dramatic, haha. )

    But I mean it. Thank you. Don’t stop making beauty.

    Kathy from AR

    Sent from my iPhone

  4. Well said AJ….well said!

  5. probably left by someone without one ounce of talent or creativity in their entire body. please don’t apologize for using no longer wanted items in a unique way and giving them a new life. there will always be people who are jealous and have to strike out in their frustration.

  6. You go girl! I recently started to follow your blog and love everything you do, I thought the books were adorable, keep up with all you do you gave lots of supporters out there Me one of them 😉

  7. I have gotten all kinds of rude remarks from and ugly stares for my book crafts. There are plenty of books in the world. Just go to Amazon where used books sell for less than a dollar! People somehow have the notion that books are sacred so I am not surprised you got a rise out on your little book article. I LOVED IT!

    PS – I am a librarian so getting rid of old, unwanted books has been a life-long issue.

  8. I am for anyone who can look at an ordinary item and put that something to use that otherwise might end up in the landfill. It’s not only “green” but creative as well. You go girl….I LOVE your ideas and your spirit….and if any of your “crafts” so offend anyone, I’m assuming that person doesn’t really need to follow you then right? “Artists” have always walked their own path…part of the artistic bent….and let’s face it, do you really want to be part of the “masses”? Nah, didn’t think so….cheerio!

  9. I love how you have recycled those old books. I am an avid reader and book lover but I have seen over and over again books in dumpsters or recycling centers to be shredded. This is another unique way to recycle and still be able to enjoy them.

  10. I love your blog and think your imagination and creativity are inspiring. Any one who writes a blog is putting part of their spirit out for the world to judge. You can’t let negativity get you down. Keep on creating!

  11. You know…if people don’t like your arts/crafts they can always stop reading your blog. I like your stuff. They’re just jealous! Dare I say it..F’em!!!

  12. If more people did what you do, we might not have such an environmental impact problem for everything! Those people who are critical are just too lazy to try and think of creative ways to reuse items. I love your creativity. Keep it up!

  13. I have a different spin on this, where I was too late to read the comments, I gather she was offended, lol, well I LOVE books, everything about them, I have HUNDREDS, and therefore I find anything book related amazing, they are no longer between the binding but out in the open, and living on, just another opinion. Keep doing what you are doing.

  14. SIGH!!!!


Leave a Reply

