Pumpkins: plain, fancy & funky!!

Made this batch of plain pumpkins a couple of weeks ago for a wholesale account:

I wanted something ‘different’ to put in our spaces at Stars and Camas though.

This pile of cut out pumpkins sat for WEEKS, awaiting inspiration.

I love the different things the big wholesale companies do with pumpkins.  Different colors, different designs carved onto them.  Decided to use that as my inspiration.  Painted them cream, tan and black.

And used foam stamps to add designs to them.

And here they are, on display in Camas:

 

 

And some little glittered and painted gourd centerpieces:

Silver and grey on a grey pedestal plate.

Black and white in a black wire spider basket.

And at Stars with the beachy blue decor.

And some black and brown at Stars.

These wood proch pumpkins are ‘free standing’, and have a ‘make-do bracket’ on the back, like this:

Michael cut the brackets out of scrap wood; 2×6’s for the smaller ones and 4×4 posts for the larger ones.  He attached ours using an ‘air nailer’ throught the front.  It leaves ‘barely visible’ nail holes.  If you don’t have an air nailer, you could use a weather proof industrial adhesive.  **IMPORTANT TIP**  Do NOT line your bracket up PERFECTLY EVEN with the bottom of your pumpkin.  It needs to be about 1/8th of an inch UP from the bottom.  Otherwise your pumpkins will TIP FORWARD.  You want them to ‘lean back’ just a TAD.

GOTTA have some pretty turquoise glittery ones too!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2010/09/15/pumpkins-plain-fancy-funky/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you. I can do that in Texas. I’m glad we don’t compete for the localmarket.

  2. Very cute idea! How do YOU think these things up???? I don’t have an imagination like that. I can look at someone’s idea and add own little thing to it but nothing like you do! Now the pumpkins I made look so plain! Keep amazing us! Thanks for all you do! Diane

    • HOW do I think up these things?? Well, as I mentioned on THESE, I was inspired by designs I’ve seen on manufactured pumpkins. And since I’m using wood and didn’t want to CARVE them, I just ‘used what I have’ to add my designs. But I DO think the pumpkin carving patterns (stencils) you can buy would also look cool painted onto wood pumpkins. There are really VERY FEW truly original ideas in this world anymore. Just about everything new is just a ‘new TWIST’ on something we’ve seen before.

      aj

  3. Are your pumpkins on stands or do they just lean?

    • They have 2×4 or 4×4 triangle shaped stands on the back so they can stand on their own. Michael attaches the stands for my by using the air nailer; and nailing them through the front. (leaves a barely noticeable little nail hole.)
      aj

  4. […] by mmbcreations in dumpster diving, handmade, upcycle Tags: Autumn leaf color, before and after, dumpster diving, halloween, painted furniture, pumpkins, trash day, trash to treasure, upcycling Thursday night we had a fun and inspirational Ladies’ gathering at church. I was in charge of decorations. So, I made some pumpkins to go in the table with the fall leaf garlands. The pumpkins were inspired by trash2treasure https://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/2010/09/15/pumpkins-plain-fancy-funky/ […]


Leave a Reply

